You can now easily share your conversations with ChatGPT with anyone both in mobile and desktop.
When you have a conversation with ChatGPT that you consider worth sharing, you can now easily share it with anyone in just a few clicks.
How to use ChatGPT built-in sharing function in browser?
To share a conversation you’ve had with ChatGPT in the browser, follow these steps:
Hover over the conversation window you want to share. You can also select past conversations from the left menu if you wish.
Click on the “share” icon in the top right corner.
In the pop-up window that appears, click on the “Copy Link” option at the bottom. By sharing the automatically copied link anywhere you want, you can enable others to view this conversation.
When you share a conversation using a link, your name or personal information won’t be included by default.
However, if you want to add your name, you can do so when creating the link. Just click on the ellipsis (…) in the shared link window and select ‘Share your name.’ Your name will then appear at the top of the conversation on the shared link page.
Sharing Your ChatGPT conversations in the Mobile App
You can also share your chats from the ChatGPT mobile app. Here’s how to share any conversation you want:
- Open the mobile app.
- Click on the three-dot icon at the top right of the screen.
- In the window that pops up, click on the ‘History’ option to find the chat you want to share.
- Once you’ve selected the chat, press the three-dot icon again and click the ‘Share Chat’ button.
- In the new window, check the chat you’re about to share and click the ‘Share Chat’ button at the bottom to create the sharing link. You can also automatically share this chat via platforms like WhatsApp, Instagram, Email, Twitter, etc.
If you share a conversation using a link, anyone who has that link can see and join the conversation. Be cautious when sharing sensitive information because anyone with the link can access your conversation or even share the link with others.
If you want to make a shared link private, you can delete the link using the (…) icon or clear the conversation. Your shared link won’t be accessible anymore when you delete your shared chat .
When you share a conversation using the built-in feature, the entire conversation up to that point will be included. If you had multiple prompts and responses in the conversation, all of them will be visible when someone opens the shared link.
For example, let’s say you had a conversation with 7 prompts and responses. If you create a shared link and someone opens it, they will see not only the most recent prompt and response but also the entire history of the conversation up to the creation point.
However, any messages added to the conversation after the shared link was generated will not be included.
If you delete the original ChatGPT conversation or if you delete your account the shared link will also be deleted. And the conversation will no longer be accessible via the shared link.
You can view and manage the links or conversations you have shared in ChatGPT through a single window.
To do this:
- Go to the Settings tab in the left menu on the main page.
- In the window that opens, click on the Data Control option
- Then click on the Manage button next to “Shared Links.”
- In the opened window, you can view all the conversations you have shared so far. If you wish, you can edit or delete these conversations here.
How to not get discolored background when copying text from ChatGPT?
You can easily copy and paste ChatGPT’s responses using the Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V method. However, this approach sometimes copies the formatted response along with the background information of ChatGPT.
If you want to copy only ChatGPT’s response without the background, all you need to do is use the shortcut for plain text paste. On Windows devices, it’s Ctrl-Alt-V, and on Macintosh devices, it’s Command-Shift-V.
By using these shortcuts, you can copy only the response from ChatGPT without copying its background.